DIY Revamp: Camouflage Shirt

The ever turning wheel that is fashion has stopped on camouflage again this season. A camouflage shirt is the little black dress of over shirts. It pretty much works with everything.

Image

Mr Price camouflage shirt

I found this rather loud camouflage shirt (talk about an oxymoron) at Mr Price which was so close to perfect save for a few minor details. For one the embellishment had to go. The original buttons were actually not that bad, but I had something better

Image

A new perspective on mass production clothing

For the past few months I’ve been collecting buttons with a crown design from the Milnerton Market at R1 a pop. I like that even though they are completely different there’s a level of uniformity.

Image

Buttons from the Milnerton Market

One episode of Justified later and I had a completely new look.

Image

Trinity the Mannequin rocking the camouflage shirt

Image

The golden rose broach is another Milnerton Market find

Image

My favourite button

I saved all the buttons and embellishment for the next turn of the wheel, apparently Dolly Parton chic is all the range next season…

5 thoughts on “DIY Revamp: Camouflage Shirt

  1. Pingback: Camouflage is back! | Through Ian's Eyes.

  2. Mooi taaltje dat Afrikaans. But, this is exactly what I had in mind too, a camouflage shirt, but one with golden buttons that I’d probably have to find myself. I’m gonna see if it’s possible. You did it, so I should be able to pull it off too.

Leave a comment