Jason Bakery: The early hipster gets the doughssant

I’m a chronically early riser. It’s been a curse on my weekends until I discovered the Jason Bakery doughssant (cronut). Every Saturday they bake a limited number of absurdly imaginative doughssants that lures Capetonians out of bed through any kind of weather and/or hangover.

Over the Easter long weekend I had my first, a Hot Cross Doughssant with maple syrup cream cheese icing. Incredibly rich and oh so good. Jason Bakery Cronut

Standing in the takeaway queue after heeding the siren’s call that is @’s post of the day’s doughssant, it is crucial to have the will of steel. At eye level wonderful teats such croissants topped with maple syrup and bacon and bite sized savoury tartlets leer at you behind glass like ladies in a red light district. This time around I stood strong only adding the fresh juice of the day (sweet melon, pear and carrot – as fresh as advertised and refreshing) and a flat white to my bill.

The Plus One captures my classy side.  (Bottom Left) The Hot Cross Doughssant

The Plus One captures my classy side.
(Bottom Left) The Hot Cross Doughssant

This Saturday’s offering was Fruit Loops with vanilla milk crème. This one was much lighter than the Hot Cross variety. The filling tasted like creamy custard while the crunchy topping reminded me of a simpler time when Fruit Loops was a treat only reserved for the school holidays.

We made our way through the swarm of healthy people jogging/hiking/cycling on Table Mountain for one of the best views in Cape Town to enjoy a breakfast that sneers in the face of diets and everything you thought you knew about pastries.Jason Bakery Doughssant

Jason Bakery
Tel: 021 424 5644
Address: 185 Bree Street, Cape Town, 8001
Business hours:
Tuesday – Friday: 7am-3:30pm
Saturday: 8am-2pm

Another Jason Bakery convert:

5 thoughts on “Jason Bakery: The early hipster gets the doughssant

  1. Sounds heavenly. I will look it up the next time I am in Cape Town. I would be prepared to stand in a queue for hours if I knew I was going to be rewarded with something delicious afterwards.

  2. Pingback: Bacon on Bree: Bacon for people who eat carbs | janadidthis

Leave a Reply

