Fiëstas 2015: Everyone’s a winner – no really, they are!

The Fiëstas honours Afrikaans theatre in a fashion only kykNET can pull off:  absolutely uitspattig! The entrance of the Artscape was adorned with their signature blue carpet with colourful stilt walkers mixing with the local thearatti. 11030845_1083198358375429_8814251627001236077_n

Inside, helpers dressed in a vibrant cleaned-up version of steampunk – cleanpunk if you will – assisted with registration between selfies. It was an evening marked by bubbles; Du Toitskloof bubbly flowing generously and the entertainment was from a cellist in a life-sized bubble.

The fifth annual Fiëstas was hosted by Frank Opperman who had the audience in stitches with his dad jokes and a few throwbacks to his Orkney Snork Nie character that made him famous in the 90s.

Head of kykNET, Karen Meiring, hailed all the nominees as winners, adding merit to this clichéd phrased by adding that all nominees received artwork by the acclaimed South African artist Diane Victor.

Emo Adams was one of the big winners of the evening picking up 2 Fiëstas for Finding Emo (Beste prestasie in ‘n musiekgedrewe produksie and Beste musiekproduksie). After a season of American award shows with over the top speeches and false modestly, the genuineness of Afrikaans theatre professionals was endearing. Adams humbly dedicated his award to all the laaities (boys) in Mitchell’s Plain, the firefighters of Cape Town and Zane Adams. 10428587_10153107179489731_5484608955146705414_n

The Fiëstas truly brought the Artscape Theatre alive with live extracts from a few productions. Dogma was the most powerful with a suburban inspired scene of da Vinci’s Last Supper. The production by Christiaan Olwagen was honoured with 2 Fiëstas, Best Actress (Rolanda Marais) and Beste nuwe Afrikaanse opvoering.

Best Actor winner Albert Pretorius had proved his worth when he played opposite Sandra Prinsloo in an emotional extract of Die Seemeeu directly after winning the award. In fact he collected his award in costume.

Aardklop was crowned the ultimate winner of the evening scooping up the award for most popular festival and best production Bloed en Rose.

Fiëstas 2015 Winners

Gewildste fees: Aardklop
Beste aanbieding: Bloed en Rose (Aardklop)
Beste regisseur: Marthinus Basson – Bloed en Rose (Aardklop)
Beste aktrise: Rolanda Marais – Dogma & Die Seemeeu (KKNK & Aardklop)
Beste akteur: Albert Pretorius – Die Seemeeu & Playland (Aardklop & Suidoosterfees)
Beste vroulike byspeler: Lee-Ann van Rooi – Rondomskrik (KKNK)
Beste manlike byspeler: Stian Bam – Bloed en Rose (Aardklop)
Blou Stoel: Saartjie Botha vir die vertaling en verwerking van Die Rolbalspeler en Die Seemeeu
Beste opkomende kunstenaar: Richard September – Rondomskrik (KKNK)
Teaterontwerp: Jaco Bouwer – Poskantoor & Samsa-masjien/ (Aardklop & KKNK)
Beste prestasie in ‘n musiekgedrewe produksie: Emo Adams – Finding Emo
Beste solo-vertoning: Frank Opperman – Die klaagliedere van ds Tienie Benade
Beste prestasie in visuele kuns: Gerhard Marx – The Garden at Night (Aardklop)
Beste prestasie in klassieke musiek: Braam du Toit – Poskantoor (Aardklop) (komponis)
Beste musiekproduksie: – Emo Adams – Finding Emo
Beste nuwe Afrikaanse opvoering: – Christiaan Olwagen – Dogma (KKNK)

Lewensbydrae vir Teater: Marius Weyers
Lewensbydrae vir Teater en Woordkuns: Prof. Adam Small
Lewensbydrae vir Teater en Woordkuns: Wilma Stockenström
Lewensbydrae vir Musiek en Woordkuns: Philip de Vos


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s