The film festival on the banks of the Boere Riviera

Outside, Cape Town was having one of her casual apocalyptic storms while inside the Bay Hotel I was on my best behaviour. It is the strangest thing; I have spotted tons of my parents’ friends milling around already. After a while I realised that the beautiful lady drinking coffee at the table next to ours was in fact the actress Jana Cilliers and not my mother’s bestie.  All the other ‘friends’ were also a miscellany of the actors who graced our Saturday night small screen.

JanaCilliers

The event was KykNet’s Silwerskermfees that showcased a selection of Afrikaans short and feature films. We only went for the one day and oh how I wished I had Hermione’s time turner. Hard decisions had to be made. Offer

We really enjoyed Harald Richter’s short film Offer which was based on O Henry story, ‘The Gifts of Magi’. Because smudged mascara is a good way to start off a 10 hour day.

Prinses

Prinses turned me into a horror fan for 30 minutes and is the reason why I won’t ever look a ballerina in the eye again. A certain soap star who sat next to me (okay, it was Brumilda van Rensburg) said with wide eyes, “Ek het nou ‘n Bakgat of iets nodig.” With so many of the newbie film makers loitering about one had to be very careful when giving an  opinion, unless you really stood by it. After watching Ompad someone next to me loudly trashed the student rampage short film with the whole cast sitting drinking coffee a few meters away. She just shrugged when this was pointed out to her.

I regret missing the screenings of Toevlug, Beskermhere and the Boer War zombie film Bloedson with their panel discussions earlier in the week. We were only there for the Friday. Luckily the short films will be available online. Anyone with uncapped internet free this weekend?

* Read my full report of the Silwerskermfees on Howzit MSN.

Leave a Reply

