Chatting scarves with Nataniël

On Friday I had the pleasure  of hanging out on the set of Die Nataniël Tafel. Nataniël is a really really big deal in certain factions of the Afrikaans community, mostly mothers and more specifically my mom. When I posted a pic of the set on Facebook I realised that his popularity had trickled down to the younger generation when a friend got so excited that she didn’t even bother to post a comment and just messaged me directly instead. Later, my youngest sister bitterly wanted all the details.

My money shot pic with Nataniël. Co producer Adelaide Potgieter and former 7de waiter turned production assistant  Sekoati Tsubane are in the background

My money shot pic with Nataniël. Co producer Adelaide Potgieter and former 7de waiter turned production assistant Sekoati Tsubane are in the background

As much as I enjoy fostering jealously amongst family and friends, there was more to this experience than that. I am also a bit of a fan girl. In my youth I looked forward to his columns in my mom’s Sarie every month.

While they were still prepping for the show Nataniël found a cellphone charging on the set. He asked who was so middle class to record with a cellphone. And there I was with my S3 taking photos of it all, with a deep blush creeping over my face even though the jab was not directed at me. Having a sense of humour is mandatory if you’re in Nataniël’s presence.

Later in the production room I got to meet the man. He complimented my polka dot scarf – he wore a similar one the previous day. Star stuck I blurted out the first thing that came to mind, “Thanks, it’s a Chinatown special.” He went on to tell a story that completely muddled up everything I thought I knew about him. His friend often goes to the Chinatown in Johannesburg where one needs to buy 5 scarves at a time which she then distributes amongst their circle. So before they go out together they’ll call ahead to coordinate who is wearing their scarf.

Read the full story and check the gallery on MSN Howzit.

Leave a Reply

